# **GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL**

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 10 February 2012.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Mr D S Daley, Mr R J Parry and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer), Mrs C Stephens (Childcare Development Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

#### UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

#### 1. Minutes

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meetings held on 16 November 2011 and 2 December 2011 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

# 2. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent *(Item B1)*

(1) The Panel agreed by 2 votes to 0 with 2 abstentions to re-appoint Mr T Dhesi to the Governing Body of Northfleet Nursery School because, having reflected on previous decisions it had made in respect of guideline (h), it considered that his experience as Mayor of Gravesend would be beneficial to the school. The Panel also noted that Mr Dhesi had originally been appointed before guideline (h) had come into being.

(2) The Panel made no decision on the nomination of Ms S Davies to the Governing Body of Furness School due to impending changes to the School's governance arrangements.

(3) The Panel agreed to the reappointment of Mr A Robson to the governing body of St Katherine's Knockholt CEP School because his attendance record was partly explained by a number of changes top meeting dates and because of the conscientiousness that he had displayed in his work for the school.

(4) The Panel agreed by 2 votes to 1 with 1 abstention to re-appoint Mr A Horton to the Governing Body of Holywell Primary School, Upchurch. It considered on balance that as he had originally been appointed before guideline (h) came into being, it would be appropriate for him to continue in that capacity.

(5) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors in primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and the nominations to non-authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes. This page is intentionally left blank

#### APPENDIX (Paragraph 2 of the Minutes refers)

#### 1. ASHFORD

#### School

East Stour Primary School

#### 2. CANTERBURY

#### School

Parkside Community Primary School The Archbishop's School Westmeads Community Infant School Wickhambreaux CE Primary School

#### 3. DARTFORD

# School

Dartford Technology College Fleetwood Primary School Oakfield Community Primary School

# 4. DOVER

#### School

Aycliffe Community Primary School Dover Grammar School for Boys Dover Grammar School for Girls Sandwich Junior School

#### 5. GRAVESHAM

#### School

Lawn Primary School Northfleet Nursery School Singlewell Primary School

#### 6. MAIDSTONE

**School** Coxheath Primary School North Borough Junior School Senacre Wood Primary School

# 7. SEVENOAKS

#### **School** Fawkham Primary School Hextable School Sevenoaks Primary School St Katherine's Knockholt CE (VA) Primary School

*Appointee* Mr G Millner

# Appointee

Dr A Sharman Miss V Smith Prof P Cobley Mrs Selby-Bird

#### Appointee

Mr P Shaw Mrs V Akinyemi Mr N Lake

#### Appointee

Lord Graham Hutchison Mr L Craggs Mr A Parsons Mr P Charlesworth

#### Appointee

Mrs E Newby Mr T Dhesi Mr R Searles

#### Appointee

Miss J Hansford Miss J Trumper Mr A Bax

# Appointee

Mrs W Stiddard Mr A Jones Miss B Duell Mr A Robson

# 8. SHEPWAY

#### School

Lydd Primary School Lydd Primary School Lympne CE Primary School Sellindge Primary School St Nicholas CE (Controlled) Primary School

# 9. SWALE

# School

The Federation of Bobbing Village School and Iwade Community Primary School The Federation of Bobbing Village School and Iwade Community Primary School The Federation of Kemsley and Milton Court Community Primary Schools Borden CE Primary School Hernhill CE Primary School Holywell Primary School Murston Infant School Ospringe CE Primary School

# 10. THANET

# School

Birchington CE Primary School Callis Grange Nursery and Infant School Newington Community Primary School Northdown Primary School Priory Infant School

# 11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

# 12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

#### School

Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys

#### 13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

- 14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS
- 15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS
- 16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

#### Appointee

Mr B Hart Mr C Goddard Mrs S Lamb Mr D Shipton Mr E Last

# Appointee

Mr B Stokes

Mr S Plumb

Mr P Hartfree Mr B Woodland Mrs H Figgis Mr A Horton Mrs J Wood Dr A Norley

#### Appointee

Mr S Hughes Mr G Edwards Ms L Gardner Mr J Howes Mrs B Cook

Appointee Mr P Drew